Blue Award 2012

International Student Competition

pubblicato il:

consegna entro il 1° febbraio 2012

The Department for Spatial and Sustainable Design from the Vienna University of Technology organizes the Blue Award.

The Blue Award is a biennial, international student competition and awards projects addressing the topic of sustainability in the academic fields of architecture, regional planning and urbanism. The economical, cultural and social dimensions of sustainable development should be equal in significance to the classical problems of technique and function.

The competition is an open invitation to future-oriented and sustainable solutions. How will our built environment present itself in the coming years? Not a one-dimensional approach leads to results, but rather a comprehensive view of the tasks at hand is necessary in order to provide solutions and protect an environment worth experiencing.

The Blue Award 2012 is making its second appearance as an anonymous, international, single-phase competition, and is intended for students of architecture, regional planning and urbanism.

The Blue Award 2012 will be handed out in three categories.

The Blue Award 2012 will particularly emphasize and support architectural efforts in hot and dry climates. Projects located in crisis areas and in areas environmentally threatened will be given special consideration. This, however, forms no grounds for exclusion or discrimination of projects that deal with other topics in sustainability.

Participants can submit projects in the following three categories:

Category 1 - Urban Development and Transformation, Landscape Development
Category 2 - Ecological Building
Category 3 - Building in Existing Structures

Prize sum of 20,000.- Euros

The prize sum of 20,000. Euros will be divided by the jury among the three categories of the competition. The jury may decide upon a number of honorable mentions. In addition, independent of the categories, a special award will be handed out by the jury, chosen from among all entries

01.10.2011 Start of Submissions 01.02.2012 End of Submissions