Public Space. European prize 2012

premio di architettura

pubblicato il:

consegna entro il 19 gennaio 2011

The Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona (CCCB), the Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine (Paris), The Architecture Foundation (London), the Nederlands Architectuurinstituut (Rotterdam), the Architekturzentrum Wien (Vienna), the Museum of Finnish Architecture (Helsinki) and the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (Frankfurt) announce the seventh European Prize for Urban Public Space, which will be awarded on 29 June 2012 in Barcelona.

The European Prize for Urban Public Space, created in 2000, is a biennial event organized to acknowledge and encourage the creation, recovery and improvement of public space in our cities. With the emphasis on European integration, the Prize highlights the social and political dimension of architecture.

Works that have created, recovered or improved public space within the geographic limits of the Council of Europe in the years 2010 and 2011 may present for the Prize. These entries must be presented by the authors or the institutions that have sponsored the public space project. Given that some urban public space interventions are of very long duration, any project that has not been completely finalised in the time period of 2010-2011 may still present for the Prize if enough phases of the envisaged end result have been completed to enable evaluation of the eventual repercussions of the intervention as a whole within its urban setting.

In its last six iterations, the Prize has become consolidated internationally. In 2010, 303 works in 32 European countries were presented, charting the principal concerns of public space in European cities. To make this information available to the public, the Prize created the European Archive of Urban Public Space (, which contains the 451 best works in 295 European cities that have been submitted over the years.

The seventh Prize will be presided over by the architect Josep Llinàs, following on from Rafael Moneo (2010), Manuel de Solà-Morales (2008) and Elías Torres (2006).

The deadline for registration is 19 January 2012.

The conditions of entry and information about free and open registration for the European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012 are available at